top of page

Greased tribbles, decadent beer, and good-guy religious characters

Updated: Apr 10, 2020


A greased tribble…


I'm still working on the follow-up to Devon’s Island. This morning I've been writing a scene which has had me researching newborn puppies.


I don't know about you, but I've never actually met a newborn puppy. I've always adopted my dogs as adults – until recently anyway. In the autumn of 2018, we needed to adopt a new dog. Only my elderly German shepherd hated unfamiliar dogs. We searched for one that would fit into our family and be accepted by Olivia. And so it had to be a puppy. Parental instincts meant she made exceptions for puppies.


In June of 2018, Lemmy and his brother, Hank, were abandoned at one day old. In a shopping bag. In a bin.


Thankfully, they were found and rescued. They were turned over to the same rescue group where we got one of our other dogs. The shelter manager hand-reared and bottle fed the brothers. 


Meet Lemmy. He's the one on the bottom, underneath Hank. We adopted Lemmy when he was five months old.



As you can see, the pair of them resemble nothing quite so much as greased tribbles.


That's right. You heard me. Greased tribbles. As you may have guessed, I'm not the maternal type.


Anyway, this is Lemmy now, sitting atop his (adopted) brother, Ozzy.

 

Book review: The Outside

Author: Ada Hoffmann ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ One time I bought a bottle of stout that was so exquisitely intense in its flavour (not to mention its alcohol content) that I couldn't drink more than a 100 mL at a time. This book is like that beer. Check out my review here or buy it here.

 

Cool stuff!

A group of science fiction and fantasy authors have clubbed together bring you your next favourite read. All with LGTBQIA+ central characters! Check them out here.


 

Parting question…

Who are your favourite religious characters in fiction? That is, characters whose faith is overtly a core part of who they are and who are also good, decent likeable people…


I've been thinking about that recently and I realised it was odd that my two favourite religious characters were written by atheists: Shepherd Book from Firefly and Prior Philip from Pillars of the Earth by Ken Folllett.

 

Get the first two chapters of Devon’s Island now for free here.

14 views0 comments
bottom of page