top of page

Lividity, allegory, and supplication

Updated: Mar 14, 2020



I'm livid.


Actually, I'm not. Geekily awestruck is what I am. I've been working on the follow-up to Devon’s Island and I've learned two things recently that have piqued my interest. Before I get into that, I'd like to welcome you to my very first newsletter. I promise not to send more than one a month (at most). Everyone knows the sky on Mars is a dull salmony sort of colour, right? And it is – mostly. But it turns out that it isn't always that colour. At sunrise and sunset – for just a few minutes – it's blue. You can find out why here.


The second thing I learnt (in searching to find a word to describe the colour of dawn on Mars) was a word I thought I already knew. Livid. Turns out, it's not just a mood; it's also a colour.


 

Book review: Failure to Communicate

Author: Kaia Sønderby ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Recommended for: people who enjoy character-driven contemporary allegory in a far-future science fiction setting Check out my review here or buy it here.



Free stuff!

A group of science fiction authors have clubbed together bring you your next favourite story. All for free!  Check it out here.

 

Parting thought…

On behalf of immunocompromised people everywhere, please read these words from a virologist. And please, please, please – for frak's sake – wash your hands.

 

Get the first two chapters of Devon’s Island now for free here.


28 views0 comments
bottom of page